[FRAMED]: Anthony Greco, Tracking Lead, MTL

Framestore
4 min readJul 9, 2021

[FRAMED] exists to shine light on Framestore’s most fascinating cast of characters: its people. Presented with a probing list of questions and a demandingly short deadline, this feature puts the hopes, dreams, and desktops of our MVPs on the digital wall, for all to see. Welcome to [FRAMED].

What are you guilty of?

I’m sometimes prone to laziness.

Your last brush with greatness?

I made a pretty good chicken curry this week :D The evidence is gone though.

Your worst character fault?

I’m sometimes a bit resentful, but not often.

Your most shining quality?

I am reliable

If you had taken a different path, what would you be doing now?

There are so many things I like, so it’s hard to tell, but probably working with animals in a shelter.

You’re on the run from the law, where are you headed?

Faroes Island probably or back home in Corsica.

Who’s your partner-in-crime?

An army of doggos :D

Fantasy cellmate?

Steve McQueen from The Great Escape.

What’s your favorite movie/TV show and why?

The movie that had the biggest impact in my life is Seven Samurai from Akira Kurozawa. It’s hard for me not to pick a Tarantino movie but I would’t be a Tarantino fan without Kurozawa. TV show without hesitation : South Park.

Your greatest achievement?

Even though I’m pretty happy with what I‘ve done so far to get where I am today, I’m still working on the “great” one.

Most valuable skill?

Adaptability

Go on, say something bragging:

One day, I fixed Alain Prost’s laptop (only people interested in Formula 1 will know who he is).

Name your vice/pet peeve?

Buying things that are so unnecessary that they are essential … so the pet peeve is any Amazon-like website :D

The DREAM project would entail:

Working with people I like is enough for me but working for a specific director like Quentin Tarantino, Bong Joon-ho or Edgar Wright, just to give a few examples, would be a huge bonus.

Your career highlight to date:

I was crazy excited to work on a Robert Zemeckis’ show when we did the VFX on Welcome to Marwen.

This week I learnt that:

There is finally a proper way to install softwares in command line on Windows (I know! So exciting)

What’s your current view?

My screens unfortunately

Give us a desk tour

My desk is pretty charged, one 27inch screen plus a 24inch in portrait, a wacom, a 65% keyboard, a mixing table and a microphone, my headset, a capture card, few raspberry pi running small server services and so much more. Let’s just say it’s a typical desk of a guy who likes tech.

What do you need to work, on the daily?

Coffee! Even if I’ve reduced my consumption drastically.

Framestore is, to you, in three words:

A big family.

Best thing about your work environment? (at home!)?

I really like my desk but I’m not a huge fan of working from home as the most important thing for me is being in contact with my coworkers.

Framestore is great at:

Training artists

Favourite artform?

Cinema and photography

Favourite image?

It’s hard to choose only one, there are so many! I’ll pick one specific shot from “Duel at Ganryu Island”: Toshiro Mifune and Koji Tsuruta are fighting on a beach as the sun is rising. Musashi Miyamoto (played by Mifune) is using the light of the sun to blind his opponent before the final strike. The use of natural light by Hiroshi Inagaki in this sequence is just amazing.

Fictional character you’d like to hang with?

Majima Goro!

Happiness looks like:

A golden retriever’s smile:

If not here, then where?

There are so many places I want to visit. Let’s go take some pictures in New Zealand first.

What do you think of too often?

Traveling, visiting new countries and learning about different cultures.

And not enough?

All the projects I have in my head.

Couldn’t live without:

Computers

If you ruled the world:

Let’s be honest, nobody wants that, myself included :D

How are you staying inspired by working remotely?

Mostly by communicating as much as possible with my colleagues.

How are you spending your weekends?

Playing video games most of the time, working on some small personal projects when I’m not too lazy (spoiler : doesn’t happen often).

What’s the biggest lesson you’ve learned about yourself during quarantine?

I’m not as much of a lone wolf as I thought I was :D

Include a pic of your work station

Anthony Greco, you’ve been [FRAMED].

--

--

Framestore

A global creative studio spanning film, advertising and content. Find more at framestore.com