[FRAMED]: Charchit Porwal, CFX TD, MUM

Framestore
5 min readDec 2, 2022

[FRAMED] exists to shine light on Framestore’s most fascinating cast of characters: its people. Presented with a probing list of questions and a demandingly short deadline, this feature puts the hopes, dreams, and desktops of our MVPs on the digital wall, for all to see. Welcome to [FRAMED].

What are you guilty of?

Binge watching TV series and making more than 200 playblasts for one complex shot.

What was your last brush with danger?

My last brush with danger was 6 years ago when I had an accident while riding a bike with friends and fractured my left hand.

Your last brush with greatness?

Last month when I got appreciation from Framestore for my work.

Your worst character fault?

I tend to be introverted and shy around people I don’t know well. I can be quite outgoing and chatty once I get to know someone better, but it takes me a little while to warm up to new people.

Your most shining quality?

My most shining quality is my ability to make people laugh and my knack for understanding things quickly — which helps me learn new things easily.

If you had taken a different path, what would you be doing now?

I would be a photographer because I love taking pictures and capturing memories. I would also maybe be a chef because I love cooking and trying new food items.

You’re on the run from the law, where are you headed?

I’ll be heading to the Maldives.

Who’s your partner-in-crime?

I don’t really have a partner in crime, but I do have a lot of close friends that I do crazy things with.

Fantasy Cellmate?

Chacha Chaudhary (an Indian comic book character) — he can probably help me in escaping.

What’s your favourite movie/TV show and why?

It’s a Bollywood movie called Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara. The movie is full of adventure, humour, and heart. It taught me to live in the moment and enjoy life to the fullest.

Your greatest achievement?

I think it’s yet to be achieved, stay tuned. 😁

Most valuable skill?

I am curious about everything and I never stop learning.

Go on, say something bragging:

I can remember things very well and I cook delicious food.

Name your vice/pet peeve?

I find it very annoying when people watch Instagram reels loudly on public transport and when people come in late to a movie and put their flashlights in your eyes.

The DREAM project would entail:

I am particularly interested in Indian Mythology because it is so rich in stories and characters. There are so many different gods and goddesses, and each one has their own unique powers and stories. I would love to work on a movie that features lots of different creatures and characters from Indian Mythology.

Your career highlight to date:

I started my career working in Bollywood— where I worked on 15 films in the last three years. And now here I am at Framestore, fulfilling my dream to work on a Disney movie, by working on ‘The Little Mermaid’.

This week I learnt that:

I can’t always rely on Google to give me the answer to everything.

What’s your current view?

My desk is at the starting corner of the floor and I can see all the other departments behind my monitor. There is a window to my right which overlooks a beautiful open sky. And below that, I can see trains passing by at the railway station. But the best part of my view is that I get to enjoy the sunset every day.

Give us a desk tour!

My desk is pretty bare-bones — I have a 2x24" monitor, notepad, coffee mug, 2 earphones tangled in themselves, a phone stand, case for my lenses, a lens cleaner and a 4x4 Rubik’s cube (That I have solved so many times, that I don’t know what to do with it anymore.)

What do you need to work on the daily?

A cup of tea, a water bottle to keep me hydrated, a comfortable chair and music.

Framestore is, to you, in three words:

Creativity, passion and talent.

Best thing about your work environment?

The best thing about my work environment is the people. I work with a great group of people who are always willing to help and are a lot of fun to work with.

Framestore is great at:

Framestore is great at crafting visually stunning images and giving freedom to artists to express their creativity.

Favourite artform?

I really enjoy photography — both taking photos and looking at other people’s work.

Favourite image?

It’s the best photo of any creature I have captured till now.

Fictional character you’d like to hang with?

I would love to hang out with Mr. Bean! He is hilarious and always gets himself into interesting situations. I think spending time with him would be a lot of fun.

Happiness looks like:

Going home after a long time and having fun with family and friends.

If not here, then where?

Roaming around different countries in the world.

What do you think of too often?

What I’m going to eat for my next meal!

And not enough?

About exercising and my physique.

Couldn’t live without:

My phone, laptop, internet and of course my family!

If you ruled the world:

I would enforce a law that anyone could travel to any country for free.

Charchit Porwal, you’ve been [FRAMED].

--

--

Framestore

A global creative studio spanning film, advertising and content. Find more at framestore.com