[FRAMED]: Claire Lawrence-Slater, Creature FX Technical Director, LDN

Framestore
4 min readDec 23, 2020

--

[FRAMED] exists to shine light on Framestore’s most fascinating cast of characters: its people. Presented with a probing list of questions and a demandingly short deadline, this feature puts the hopes, dreams, and desktops of our MVPs on the digital wall, for all to see. Welcome to [FRAMED].

What are you guilty of?

Sometimes wearing pyjamas to early morning dailies and meetings. I’m also guilty of amassing what might be considered an excessive collection of face masks. I was recently at the Tate Modern and yes I came home with a new one. I justify it by the need to wash them regularly and wearing different colour combinations… is that really justification? They don’t need their own drawer, yet.

We say the more the merrier! What was your last brush with danger?

Just before lockdown I went to get a little shopping at the M&S food hall by work and got the last pack of loo paper. I felt very vulnerable with it in my basket, many many eyes upon me as I went to self-checkout. Hurried back to the office and hid it in my backpack for safe travels home.

Your last brush with greatness?

I turned a corner and encountered Noel Fielding in Fitzroy before we moved to Chancery Lane. I very rarely get starstruck, but I got all giddy and tongue tied. Thankfully he was friendly and didn’t seem terrified at all.

Your worst character fault?

Some would say that it’s my lack of interest in Star Wars and gaming.

If you had taken a different path, what would you be doing now?

Definitely a musician. For a long time that’s what I identified with and what I was, but then somehow I found myself here. I do often dream of driving a Zamboni for a living, so maybe that’s a future path.

You’re on the run from the law, where are you headed?

A yurt hideaway in an idyllic woody glen.

We like your thinking. Who’s your partner-in-crime?

My cat.

Wise choice. Most valuable skill?

I try to keep a good attitude and not take things personally (try).

Name your pet peeve?

Chewing gum on the pavement and under tables. Why??????????

We’re with you on that one. Go on, say something bragging:

I was 15, singing back up with a band at the Ritz in NYC, after the show Andy Warhol came into our dressing room. He came right up to me, introduced himself and very politely asked if he could take my picture with his polaroid. He took a bunch of photos, I know somewhere in the many many boxes of pictures left in his estate are photos of my teenage self.

The DREAM project would entail:

After a long hiatus I have got back into music again and am currently in an all-girl, one-girl band making very soundtrack-like music. A dream project would probably be something small where I could be involved in both visuals and music.

Your career highlight to date:

I’ve had the opportunity to work on a lot of great projects, and with some great teams, both in VFX and animation, so it’s really hard to pick just one highlight. Just being able to say I do something for a living that I honestly enjoy and am proud of is a daily highlight.

This week I learnt that:

A group of mice is called a mischief. Being in creature FX I am going to consider this work-related.

What’s your current view?

A house that really needs a tidy up.

Go on, give us a desk tour.

2 small squeaky ducks, a small ganesha statue, money tiki, sea glass from the local beach, a rock from Novato, California, my laptop for meetings and teradici setup for work. For a long time it was the dining table (knees against flap) and an armchair, but then I finally got a proper desk and chair a couple of months ago. There is also occasionally a cat who comes up and gives me very picky notes.

Framestore is, to you, in three words:
Quality, people, decency.

Best thing about your work environment?

Being able to be quiet and just focus on work at hand without interruption. For the last few months the commute has been pretty good, as long as I don’t fall over something which I am very likely to do on a daily basis.

Framestore is great at:

Bringing together good teams of people and nurturing a positive and creative environment.

Favourite artform?

Photography and music are a tie.

Fictional character you’d like to hang with?

Peter Grant

Happiness looks like:

A quiet walk in the woods.

What do you think of too often?

The things that are stressing me out at the time

Couldn’t live without:

The freedom to be myself.

If you ruled the world:

I would be deputy to a cat who ruled the world and just used me as its mouthpiece.

Claire Lawrence-Slater, you’ve been [FRAMED].

--

--

Framestore

A global creative studio spanning film, advertising and content. Find more at framestore.com