[FRAMED]: Duy Tran, Lead Modeller, MTL

Framestore
3 min readMar 5, 2021

--

[FRAMED] exists to shine light on Framestore’s most fascinating cast of characters: its people. Presented with a probing list of questions and a demandingly short deadline, this feature puts the hopes, dreams, and desktops of our MVPs on the digital wall, for all to see. Welcome to [FRAMED].

What are you guilty of?

Spending too much time on Reddit and Youtube.

What was your last brush with danger?

COVID.

Your last brush with greatness?

I’m still looking for it.

Your worst character fault?

I am mister “I want it NOW…”

Your most shining quality?

I think I am a good father. Let me ask my kids first.

You’re on the run from the law, where are you headed?

Probably somewhere between North and South of Vietnam, but preferably Hoi An city.

Who’s your partner-in-crime?

My wife.

What’s your favourite movie/TV show and why?

Breaking Bad. I can watch it till 4 am, and still be in top shape for the next day at work.

Your greatest achievement?

My greatest achievement are my kids Liam and Lucas.

Most valuable skill?

I didn’t know I could be a handyman by checking out Youtube.

Go on, say something bragging:

I can cook pasta!

Name your vice/pet peeve?

I hate waiting for people who are late.

The DREAM project would entail:

Whatever the project is, if we always have a happy and devoted team, that’s the DREAM!

Your career highlight to date:

Being chosen for the “Framed” series.

This week I learnt that:

I can spend 2 hours reading my phone in the bathroom without anyone noticing.

What’s your current view?

Probably not the best view while working in the basement, but I can say that wall is pretty white.

Give us a desk tour [personal items, tools, software]

What do you need to work, on the daily?

My hot tap water.

Framestore is, to you, in three words:

Best learning school.

Best thing about your work environment? (at home!)?

Less time in traffic, no more stress to pick up the kids at night or rushing them in the morning.

Framestore is great at:

Creatures show.

Favourite artform?

Sculpting and drawing.

Favourite image?

Fictional character you’d like to hang with?

Walter White.

Happiness looks like:

No more stress.

If not here, then where?

Mars.

What do you think of too often?

My family and friends.

And not enough?

HOLIDAYS!

Couldn’t live without:

Food and water.

If you ruled the world:

I’ll try to protect our species.

Duy Tran, you’ve been [FRAMED].

--

--

Framestore

A global creative studio spanning film, advertising and content. Find more at framestore.com