[Framed]: Hernan Llano, CG Supervisor, LDN

Framestore
3 min readMay 21, 2021

--

[FRAMED] exists to shine light on Framestore’s most fascinating cast of characters: its people. Presented with a probing list of questions and a demandingly short deadline, this feature puts the hopes, dreams, and desktops of our MVPs on the digital wall, for all to see. Welcome to [FRAMED].

What are you guilty of?

Buying a lot of tutorials and not watching a single one. Also having to google the meaning of most of these questions.

What was your last brush with danger?

Installing more RAM on my pc was a hit of adrenaline… I have no idea about computers.

Your last brush with greatness?

Eating salmon teriyaki from Eat Tokyo after more than a year of salmon abstinence thanks to COVID.

Your worst character fault?

Lack of self confidence. The only solution I have found so far is a couple of beers.

Your most shining quality?

I always wanted to be an Entomologist with a focus in taxonomy and population genetics, but here I am, addressing notes.

You’re on the run from the law, where are you headed?

Eat Tokyo. It might be my last salmon teriyaki, you never know.

Who’s your partner-in-crime?

My Girlfriend Natalia, I don’t know what I would do without her, probably I would still in Colombia.

What’s your favourite movie and why?

The Shining. I can’t explain why, I can watch that movie over and over.

Your greatest achievement?

I never thought it would be possible to work in a company like Framestore and learn from such talented people, but there you go, here I am.

Most valuable skill?

I am quite persistent when it comes to learning new things.

Name your vice?

Did I mention salmon teriyaki?

The DREAM project would entail:

Every first version is the last version.

Your career highlight to date:

I got the chance to work as a CG Supervisor in two fairly challenging projects, and everybody is still alive.

This week I learnt that:

How to implement a bilinear interpolation with Python and Numpy.

What’s your current view?

A Houdini file that just crashed. It’s kind of sunny and nice outside.

Give us a desk tour…

An audio interface to connect my guitars to the laptop, a bunch of music theory books, a Wacom Tablet I got to learn zbrush (which I never did), some Monster Clay to sculpt monsters every now and then. Sticky notes with reminders of what I need to study every day (which I actually do) and a lot of earplugs because any sort of noise gives me anxiety.

What do you need to work, on the daily?

My motivation is knowing that there are bills to pay.

Framestore is, to you, in three words:

“The Nicest School”.split()

Best thing about your work environment? (at home!)?

I have my girlfriend and my guitar next to me.

Favourite artform?

Clay, or sculptures in general.

Fictional character you’d like to hang with?

Judge Dredd.

Happiness looks like:

Sitting alone in a quiet park and enjoying the wind and the sounds from nature.

If not here, then where?

A hermit in a mountain.

Couldn’t live without:

Salmon teriyaki.

If you ruled the world:

Salmon teriyaki for everyone.

How are you spending your weekends?

I like to take a walk to parks nearby and just listen to the wind, sounds weird I know.

What’s the biggest lesson you’ve learned about yourself during quarantine?

I can solve problems much better when everything is quiet. Also, that complaining about something — but not doing anything to change it — is not a good use of your time.

Hernan Llano, you’ve been [FRAMED].

--

--

Framestore

A global creative studio spanning film, advertising and content. Find more at framestore.com