[FRAMED]: Johanna Poncelin De Raucourt, Creature FX TD, MTL

Framestore
5 min readMay 28, 2021

[FRAMED] exists to shine light on Framestore’s most fascinating cast of characters: its people. Presented with a probing list of questions and a demandingly short deadline, this feature puts the hopes, dreams, and desktops of our MVPs on the digital wall, for all to see. Welcome to [FRAMED].

What are you guilty of?

Overthinking everything

What was your last brush with danger?

Crossing what I thought was a one way road… it wasn’t. Look both ways, kids!

Your last brush with greatness?

Everyday, working with my team of course ;)

Your worst character fault?

I’m way too shy.

Your most shining quality?

Compassion. I think compassion is very underrated.

If you had taken a different path, what would you be doing now?

Probably fashion design and/or dancing (both poorly I’m afraid!)

You’re on the run from the law, where are you headed?

Just in case it ever happens, I should probably keep that to myself ;)

Who’s your partner-in-crime?

Tom

Fantasy cellmate?

Probably Tim Jenkin from Escape from Pretoria or Henri Charrière from Papillon.

Favourite TV show?

It’s impossible to choose just one, but since we’ve been stuck at home for the past year I’ve finally found time to watch “New Girl” and it’s really helped me through the tougher times of 2020. Very fun show!

Your greatest achievement?

I’m still working on it, stay tuned ;)

Most valuable skill?

Smiling no matter what.

Go on, say something bragging:

I make a mean Mojito, which has been renamed Mojiyo. (Mojito, Yohanna… MojiYO… you get it… moving on!)

Name your vice/pet peeve?

We’re all trying to figure things out as we go along to make the best out of our lives — no one has everything figured out, so let’s keep helping each other out!

The DREAM project would entail:

A nice fantasy project, with challenging Creature FX work, a very motivated team, lots of laughs and not too much overtime.

Your career highlight to date:

Anytime my friends or family go see a movie just so they can send me a pic of my name in the credits :) (it’s easy to spot, it’s the one that is 3 times as long as the other ones -_-)

This week I learnt that:

You can change your weapon using the scroll wheel, but don’t middle click, it will throw a grenade.

What’s your current view?

A grey wall

Give us a desk tour

Big glass of water, warm cup of tea, and a homemade scented candle to keep calm ;)

What do you need to work, on the daily?

A computer (or two..) can be useful ;)

Framestore is, to you, in three words:

Team, learning, opportunities

Best thing about your work environment? (at home!)?

I finally feel like I’m getting enough sleep! It took the end of the world to get there, but there we are, I’m sleeeeeeping! Much more quiet than the office, it’s easier to focus. And being able to wear whatever, no one will ever know!

Framestore is great at:

Creature work

Favourite art form?

Movies and dance

Favourite image?

Any picture of my family, whom I haven’t seen in too long.

Fictional character you’d like to hang with?

Nick Miller:

Happiness looks like:

It’s sunny, people are smiling, there’s a lake or a beach, some music, and maybe a few Mojiyos.

If not here, then where?

In a forest, by a lake, in a cosy wooden cabin.

What do you think of too often?

Food

And not enough?

Take a step back, breath and relax.

Couldn’t live without:

My loved ones, and I guess, the internet.

If you ruled the world:

We would work fewer hours. That way we could develop more personal projects, find other passions, we would feel more happy and fulfilled, so we would be more efficient at work, so we wouldn’t need as many hours to get our work done, so we would have more time for ourselves, so we could develop more personal projects …. you see where I’m going with this, virtuous cycle and whatnot.

How are you staying inspired by working remotely?

Learning new things, there is so much material available to us online now. I like to choose a “random” subject. I’ve learned so many things since working remotely, I will probably never use any of it, but it is still fascinating to learn new things.

How are you spending your weekends?

Lots of mandalas, check out my instagram page for more : https://www.instagram.com/swirly_dala/ (shameless promotion, hello!)

And sewing, walking, watching just a bit too much Netflix, dancing, eating a bit too often.

What’s the biggest lesson you’ve learned about yourself during quarantine?

I’ve learned to focus on the things I have done rather than the things I haven’t.

It’s a great tip for anyone who suffers from anxiety and stress. When I give myself goals, I used to only focus on the goals I didn’t achieve, and never on the ones I did. It has made a big change in my mental health and happiness.

Include a pic of your work station

Johanna Poncelin De Raucourt, you’ve been [FRAMED].

--

--

Framestore

A global creative studio spanning film, advertising and content. Find more at framestore.com