[FRAMED]: Justine Kay, Production Coordinator, MTL

Framestore
4 min readOct 28, 2022

--

[FRAMED] exists to shine light on Framestore’s most fascinating cast of characters: its people. Presented with a probing list of questions and a demandingly short deadline, this feature puts the hopes, dreams, and desktops of our MVPs on the digital wall, for all to see. Welcome to [FRAMED].

What are you guilty of?

Spending too much money on books…

What was your last brush with danger?

Driving my sister in law’s car through a safari park. I don’t know what I was more scared of: the animals or damaging her car!

Your last brush with greatness?

Getting married on a cliff with 60km/h wind in October. It was incredible!

Your worst character fault?

I care too much about my loved ones and anything I set my heart on.

Your most shining quality?

I care too much… See a pattern here?

You’re on the run from the law, where are you headed?

I don’t run.

Who’s your partner-in-crime?

My husband who is more level headed than I am and our cat Henri. We make a great team!

What’s your favourite movie/TV show and why?

Big Fish will always be my favourite movie. It’s truly a masterpiece and it brings me a lot of comfort when I watch it.

Your greatest achievement?

Making a life wherever in the world I move to.

Most valuable skill?

I think I read people quite well. I can adapt to people’s communication styles too.

Go on, say something bragging:

I had two degrees by the time I turned 21!

Name your vice/pet peeve?

Unfairness/inequality.

The DREAM project would entail:

A great team with my favourite people, a lot of banter and an unlimited budget.

Your career highlight to date:

Seeing my name on a cinema screen for the very first time will always be one of my top career highlights.

This week I learnt that:

Did you know that Norwegian elk are actually what Canadians call moose? Wild, I know!

What’s your current view?

A window to my left with a view on St Eustache Church in Montréal. Check out the gorgeous sunsets I get all year round (no filters!):

Give us a desk tour!

I have two screens at home (one extra screen and one laptop), Shotgun always opened on my biggest screen, and the Google Suite on my smallest screen, some vitamins I always forget to take, a pair of sunglasses, my headphones, a notebook, some water and a panda figurine a former colleague gifted me when I worked in Scotland!

What do you need to work on the daily?

Cups of tea, some natural light, and snacks! I am basically a plant.

Framestore is, to you, in three words:

Opportunities, challenges, friendships.

Best thing about your work environment?

When I WFH, I get to go to the nearby park to read during my lunch break.

Framestore is great at:

Allowing people to grow to their fullest at their own pace.

Favourite artform?

Music!

Favourite image?

At the moment, this silly photo that I would love to have framed in my house:

Fictional character you’d like to hang with?

Leslie Knope from Parks and Recreation or the whole gang from New Girl.

Happiness looks like:

Travelling somewhere you’ve never been before.

If not here, then where?

Somewhere in the middle of nowhere in Iceland.

What do you think of too often?

What food I am going to eat next…

And not enough?

I am an overthinker so there’s nothing I don’t think about enough.

Couldn’t live without:

Oxygene?

If you ruled the world:

No, thank you.

Justine Kay, you’ve been [FRAMED].

--

--

Framestore

A global creative studio spanning film, advertising and content. Find more at framestore.com