[FRAMED]: Karl Woolley, Global Real-Time Director, London

Framestore
3 min readNov 5, 2021

[FRAMED] exists to shine light on Framestore’s most fascinating cast of characters: its people. Presented with a probing list of questions and a demandingly short deadline, this feature puts the hopes, dreams, and desktops of our MVPs on the digital wall, for all to see. Welcome to [FRAMED].

What are you guilty of?

Being a Man United fan and season ticket holder….. From Kent

What was your last brush with danger?

Last week I walked out in front of a white van on Oxford St and had it physically brush my face at 30mph… I wasn’t used to traffic over lockdown!

Your last brush with greatness?

I went in to the office last week…? :-D

Your worst character fault?

Impatient

If you had taken a different path, what would you be doing now?

I’d have loved to be a footballer… I’d probably be in IT

You’re on the run from the law, where are you headed?

Albuquerque

Who’s your partner-in-crime?

Heisenberg

What’s your favourite movie/TV show and why?

Should have guessed by now… Breaking Bad

Your greatest achievement?

Not there yet!

Go on, brag about something:

I used to be able to run the 100m in ~12s when I was 11…

Name your pet peeve?

Misplaced apostrophe’s

The DREAM project would entail:

Nike, VR & Ronaldo (the Portuguese one).

Your career highlight to date:

Building an anti gravity simulator with a hand from NASA, then putting a real Astronaut in it.

This week I learnt that:

I don’t think I can tell you… :-S

What’s your current view?

A1 sized canvas print of Cantona

Give us a desk tour:

Notepad on my left, full of my terrible handwriting that even I can’t decipher, a cap, monitor, lamp, laptop & VR headset (Quest 2)

What do you need to work, on the daily?

Colleagues who are friends… and coffee

Best thing about your work environment (at home!)?

Food and drink always at hand… which I have come to realise is also probably the worst thing.

Framestore is great at:

Giving people a chance

Favourite artform?

Music, 90s…

Fictional character you’d like to hang with?

Sandor Clegane

Happiness looks like:

The kids’ bedtime

If not here, then where?

Somewhere where the sun shines, with a glass of wine… after kids’ bedtime!

What do you think of too often?

Eating and drinking…

And not enough?

Exercise

Couldn’t live without:

My wife… neither would the kids.

If you ruled the world:

What world?!

How are you staying inspired by working remotely?

Try to spend the time that was previously wasted on commuting, on reading/watching new things.

What’s the biggest lesson you’ve learned about yourself during quarantine?

I get on really well with myself!

Karl Woolley, you’ve been [FRAMED].

--

--

Framestore

A global creative studio spanning film, advertising and content. Find more at framestore.com