[FRAMED]: Luca Pelegatta, Lead Compositor, LA

Framestore
5 min readJul 22, 2022

[FRAMED] exists to shine light on Framestore’s most fascinating cast of characters: its people. Presented with a probing list of questions and a demandingly short deadline, this feature puts the hopes, dreams, and desktops of our MVPs on the digital wall, for all to see. Welcome to [FRAMED].

What are you guilty of?

Cooking carbonara with bacon and parmesan instead of guanciale and pecorino (Italians are very serious about this hahah…).

What was your last brush with danger?

Years ago, I was alone in a little Brazilian village (Jericoacoara, a beautiful place) and unfortunately I got bad food poisoning.

Your worst character fault?

I’m stubborn and an over thinker.

Your most shining quality?

Maybe that I’m unselfish and have a sarcastic sense of humour? Although, I’d prefer others to tell me what they think from an outsider’s perspective.

If you had taken a different path, what would you be doing now?

Realistically, I’d probably be an interior architect, but I’d like to dream that I could’ve been a DJ/VJ (despite the fact that I rarely play music haha).

You’re on the run from the law, where are you headed?

Brazil (without food poisoning please), Bali, or Mexico seem like good places to escape to, with cerveza, sun and beaches.

Who’s your partner-in-crime?

My best friends are all in different countries, so I elect my credit card as my partner in crime. We do bad things together.

Fantasy cellmate?

Walter Sobchak, it would be fun.

What’s your favourite movie/TV show and why?

Any David Fincher movie, for the amazing direction and attention to detail. Inception and The Matrix are two films that caught my attention for the VFX when they came out. I also enjoyed Mr Robot and The Boys.

Your greatest achievement?

Work on Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 and Beauty and the Beast at Framestore in London. I joined the Framestore office in Chicago soon after its inception and have seen it grow since then. I’d like to think my work played a part in that.

Most valuable skill?

I’m always trying to infuse creativity into my work, I’m pragmatic, responsible and hard working.

Go on, brag about something:

I assisted Chris Eckardt from Framestore’s LA studio on set for a big celebrity shoot with Jeff Cronenweth (Fight Club) as the DOP, which was very exciting.

Name your vice/pet peeve?

People trying to skip the line.

The DREAM project would entail:

Enough time and good talent. I would also love to work on a David Fincher project (and ideally have the opportunity to be on set with him).

Your career highlight(s) to date:

Four come to mind: In 2000, when I officially started working as a Flame artist. February 2015, when I joined Framestore in London on feature films, which had been a dream and challenge to myself. In June 2017, when I moved to Framestore’s office in Chicago and transitioned back into the commercials side of the business. In May 2021 when I moved to Framestore’s LA office.

What’s your current view?

Not an amazing view due to a building in front, but trust me from the side I can see the ocean… very, very far away.

Give us a desk tour!

My desk it’s pretty simple: monitor, keyboard, wacom, a Framestore mug (a must for me), personal laptop and tablet.

What do you need to work, on the daily?

Good breakfast, coffee and water throughout the day, plus Gmail, Gchat, Flame, Nuke, Shotgun always open, and a fast connection.

Framestore is, to you, in three words:

Welcoming, Innovative, Trusted.

Best thing about your work environment?

Talented collaborative and friendly people to learn from.

Framestore is great at:

Giving the right opportunity to everyone, always improving, and doing everything possible to offer solutions that satisfy our clients.

Favourite artform?

Photography is probably the artform that catches my attention the most. It’s incredible how some photos can describe a world or a story in a single image. But I’m always fascinated by any type of art. It could be a digital installation, a song, music, clothes, a design object, an app, graffiti, street art, etc. I think anything can be artistic if there is the talent and the good idea behind it. At the moment I’m so curious and interested about AI Art Generator.

Favourite image?

There are so many beautiful images in the world that it is difficult to choose one. Most of Steve McCurry’s photos.

Fictional character you’d like to hang with?

Winston ‘The Wolf’ Wolfe.

Happiness looks like:

Life without constraint.

If not here, then where?

Around the world, maybe Asia, maybe South America, Oceania…there are many places that I would like to visit.

What do you think of too often?

What can make me happy, and about the mistakes I’ve made.

And not enough?

Enjoying life and taking it easy.

Couldn’t live without:

Pasta, and sweets.

If you ruled the world:

Just two rules…

1. Respect each other and the environment.

2. Do what you want without breaking rule #1.

Luca Pelegatta, you’ve been [FRAMED].

--

--

Framestore

A global creative studio spanning film, advertising and content. Find more at framestore.com