[FRAMED] Preety Raj, FX TD, MTL

Framestore
3 min readDec 9, 2021

[FRAMED] exists to shine light on Framestore’s most fascinating cast of characters: its people. Presented with a probing list of questions and a demandingly short deadline, this feature puts the hopes, dreams, and desktops of our MVPs on the digital wall, for all to see. Welcome to [FRAMED].

What are you guilty of?

Too many chocolates.

What was your last brush with danger?

Crossing the streets in India during my current visit (…after a gap of more than 3 years!)

Your last brush with greatness?

Creating visual effects for the world

Your worst character fault?

Overthinking

If you had taken a different path, what would you be doing now?

Spacewalk!

You’re on the run from the law, where are you headed?

Can’t reveal that here ;)

Who’s your partner-in-crime?

My partner in life, Vivek.

What’s your favorite movie/TV show and why?

F.R.I.E.N.D.S. It’s light-hearted, relatable and I have mostly watched it with my friends, so fun memories.

Your greatest achievement?

Switching my career from being an engineer to getting into the VFX industry within 1 year.

Most valuable skill?

Empathy

Go on, say something bragging:

I think I already bragged under my greatest achievement question ;)

Name your vice/pet peeve?

Lack of empathy

The DREAM project would entail:

Working on an Oscar-winning shot ;)

Your career highlight to date:

My first ever production shot, the Muzzle Flash from the bullet hitting Joseph Gordon-Levitt in Project Power.

This week I learnt that:

I am on vacation after a long time!

What’s your current view?

Coconut trees because I am in Kerala.

Give us a desk tour

Back at work, I have a snow globe, Framestore patches, coffee mug and my Houdini mouse pad.

What do you need to work, on the daily?

Coffee and Tea!

Framestore is, to you, in three words:

Dream come true!

Best thing about your work environment?

My coworkers! it’s amazing to work with such talented fun-loving folks!

Framestore is great at: t

Throwing Beer Fridays!

Favourite art form?

Combination of light and music

Favourite image?

I took this when I met up with my cousins right before coming to Canada. It was a good day, and I always appreciate a beautiful sunset, moreover whenever I see this capture, it makes me happy :)

Fictional character you’d like to hang with?

Sherlock Holmes 🔍

Happiness looks like:

Having a steaming cup of chai with my loved ones!

If not here, then where?

San Diego!

What do you think of too often?

Upcoming plans and events

And not enough?

Paperwork

Couldn’t live without:

Internet

If you ruled the world:

I would try to bring some sort of financial balance across the board.

Preety Raj, you’ve been [FRAMED].

--

--

Framestore

A global creative studio spanning film, advertising and content. Find more at framestore.com