[FRAMED] VFX Editor, Rares Veteleanu, London

Framestore
4 min readJun 27, 2024

--

If you could travel back in time, which film, TV series, advert, or immersive project would you love to have worked on?

I would have loved to work on Blade Runner. It’s an interesting world that would have been great to see come together.

Which Framestore character do you feel you’re most like?

That’s a tough question to answer because there are so many great characters. Maybe Groot?

What fictional world or place would you like to visit?

Would love to visit the world of Avatar: The Last Airbender. I think there would be so many interesting places to visit in that world.

Your career highlight to date:

I had a great time working on a lot of shows and with many amazing and talented people but if I had to pick I would probably say working on Civil War!

Who or what inspired you to pursue a career in VFX?

When I was young my aunt had some VHS tapes of the first three Star Wars movies and I watched them a lot. That world made me want to work in VFX.

The DREAM project would entail:

A new Firefly movie.

How do you explain what you do to someone who doesn’t work in VFX?

It’s not an easy thing to explain. I don’t think people really get what I do day to day, but I definitely do my own stunts!

Describe your career journey into the exciting world of VFX.

I did not get into VFX the typical way. I worked at a company doing everything from editing to animation, directing or live broadcasts and I always wanted to get into VFX. I guess Covid pushed me to reach out to Paul, who I went to university with and enquire about any positions and fortunately things worked out well.

What does the day in the life of a VFX Editor look like?

It’s never the same thing, every day is different, either busy conforming edits or checking versions or running client reviews, in between a lot of other things. Keeps things interesting!

Framestore is, to you, in three words:

The right place!

Best thing about your work environment?

There are so many things. The people, the work, but probably the flexibility that hybrid working offers.

Framestore is great at:

Creating a sense that we are all working together to achieve the same goal.

Favourite artform?

Music.

Favourite image?

Don’t think I have one.

What’s your favourite movie/ series/ advert/ immersive experience and why?

I can’t just pick one I like too many series. It’s why I got into film. I just love stories. Anything that makes you think and draws you into the world it has created.

What is the last piece of art that inspired you?

Most recently I would probably have to say the work done on Dune Part 2 or maybe something that came out of a recent D&D game.

How do you unlock your creativity?

I listen to music or play a game with friends.

From where do you seek inspiration?

I listen to a lot of different music genres and you can always find something that sparks your imagination. There is so much variety out there and so many incredible artists. I find music to be a great source of inspiration.

Who in the industry do you admire most and why?

There are so many interesting and creative people but I don’t think I can pick out somebody that I admire most. I’ve already said that I like a good story so if you can bring something interesting and thought-provoking to life in any medium then you are amazing.

Share the best piece of advice you’ve ever received:

Feedback is really important, always take it on board and don’t be too precious about one version. It’s hard sometimes but you can always learn something from how others react to your work.

What tech/innovation could you not live without?

I’ll be honest, I don’t know what I would do without some type of portable music.

What tech/innovation deserves the hype?

I don’t tend to buy things based on hype so I don’t think I can recommend anything.

What tech do you need that hasn’t been invented yet?

Where are all the teleportation devices that movies have promised all these years?

Rares Vateleanu, you’ve been [FRAMED].

--

--

Framestore

A global creative studio spanning film, advertising and content. Find more at framestore.com