[FRAMED]: Victor Dinis, Animator, MTL

Framestore
4 min readFeb 18, 2021

--

[FRAMED] exists to shine light on Framestore’s most fascinating cast of characters: its people. Presented with a probing list of questions and a demandingly short deadline, this feature puts the hopes, dreams, and desktops of our MVPs on the digital wall, for all to see. Welcome to [FRAMED].

What are you guilty of?

Overthinking everything. I mean, this one question took me way longer to answer than it should have.

What was your last brush with danger?

I went to the dentist this week for a check up/cleaning, and that KINDA HURT.

Your last brush with greatness?

This Aphex Twin concert which completely blew my mind.

Your worst character fault?

Perfectionism probably, and all that it brings.

Your most shining quality?

Perfectionism again, cause I believe it pushes me forward more than it holds me back.

You’re on the lam, where are you headed?

Definitely Sintra, in Portugal. Not only do I have great memories from my time living there, but now my sister moved back to the town, so I’d have a place to shelter.

Who’s your partner-in-crime?

I cannot say. There’s too much at stake already and too many lives have been compromised.

Fantasy cellmate?

Well, if I’m in prison, I would love to eventually escape you know, but I wouldn’t want to do it and then live in hiding for the rest of my life. So I’d pick a cellmate who could build a time machine out of dirty pillows and toothbrushes because then we could go back in time and not get arrested in the first place. Maybe Doc Brown could do it, right? But I guess he would still need the plutonium to make it work… Hmm… Ok, maybe I’m overthinking this one too.

Your greatest achievement?

Managing to somehow have a decent, healthy-ish 2020.

Most valuable skill?

I’m always looking for the bright side of things.

Go on, share a humblebrag:

I realised I might not be a totally terrible drummer. I mean, I’m no Neil Peart or anything (faaaar from that), but I think I can keep time and do a couple of fills without completely embarrassing myself.

Name your vice/pet peeve?

Rudeness.

The DREAM project would entail:

A great story, creative freedom and the opportunity to experiment with different animation styles. Also, I’d love to be involved in the soundtrack too, in some way. And Steven Spielberg could be part of this, for some reason. And Meryl Streep, because why not. Then Radiohead would be helping me with the soundtrack, and those MasterChef guys could do the catering. Well, you said I could dream.

Your career highlight to date:

Honestly, working at Framestore in general.

This week I learnt that:

The toothbrushes I’ve been using for years are actually not ideal. The question didn’t mention it had to be interesting information.

Give us a desk tour [persona items, tools, software]

There’s not a lot going on here, as you can see… special mention to my two little buddies from The Lost World (underrated sequel).

What do you need to work, on the daily?

Some good sleep and if not, coffee will help.

Framestore is, to you, in three words:

Awesome learning experience.

Best thing about your work environment?

Right now, not having to commute through snow and ice during the Montreal winter (now THAT’s a daily brush with danger, if you ask me).

Framestore is great at:

Treating people with respect and making sure everyone knows what’s going on.

Favourite artform?

Music.

Fictional character you’d like to hang with?

Gandalf would be awesome; so much wisdom to share. Oh and I’d love a pet Ulysses from Flora and Ulysses too, cause he’s so very cute, and the superpowers can come in handy.

Happiness looks like:

A meal prepared with love.

If not here, then where?

A nice beach somewhere.

What do you think of too often?

How to turn everything my friends are saying into embarrassingly unfunny puns. Thankfully, I’m still much “better” at it in Portuguese, so I’d say most people in the studio are safe (for now).

And not enough?

That I should start drawing again.

Couldn’t live without:

My family and friends.

If you ruled the world:

I’d make sure to hire someone smart enough (and not evil) to rule the world.

Victor Dinis, you’ve been [FRAMED].

--

--

Framestore

A global creative studio spanning film, advertising and content. Find more at framestore.com